Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Disorientation  Cover Image Book Book

Disorientation / Elaine Hsieh Chou.

Chou, Elaine Hsieh, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593298350
  • ISBN: 0593298357
  • Physical Description: 403 pages ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Penguin Press, 2022.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references.
Formatted Contents Note:
The curious note -- A benign coincidence -- Yellow peril 2.0 -- The most common name in the English-speaking world -- The versatility of tampons -- Japan is an inherently interesting country -- Hollywood -- Chinatown blues -- Special occasion role-plays -- Traitor! -- Chaos in the East Asian Studies Department -- Good old-fashioned American freedom -- Exhibiting all the usual signs -- The ultimate Asian woman -- Serial killers want to be caught -- All hail emperor Bartholomew -- Total immersion -- Fever dream -- A priori, a posteriori -- Be a good girl.
Summary, etc.:
"A Taiwanese American woman's coming-of-consciousness ignites eye-opening revelations and chaos on a college campus in this outrageously hilarious and startlingly tender debut novel. Twenty-nine-year-old PhD student Ingrid Yang is desperate to finish her dissertation on the late canonical poet Xiao-Wen Chou and never read about ٢Chinese-y٣ things again. But after years of grueling research, all she has to show for her efforts are junk food addiction and stomach pain. When she accidentally stumbles upon a curious note in the Chou archives one afternoon, she convinces herself it's her ticket out of academic hell. But Ingrid's in much deeper than she thinks. Her clumsy exploits to unravel the note's message lead to an explosive discovery, upending not only her sheltered life within academia but her entire world beyond it. With her trusty friend Eunice Kim by her side and her rival Vivian Vo hot on her tail, together they set off a roller coaster of mishaps and misadventures, from book burnings and OTC drug hallucinations, to hot-button protests and Yellow Peril 2.0 propaganda. In the aftermath, nothing looks the same to Ingrid-including her gentle and doting fiancé, Stephen Greene. When he embarks on a book tour with the super kawaii Japanese author he's translated, doubts and insecurities creep in for the first time... As the events Ingrid instigated keep spiraling, she'll have to confront her sticky relationship to white men and white institutions-and, most of all, herself. For readers of Paul Beatty's The Sellout and Charles Yu's Interior Chinatown, this uproarious and bighearted satire is a blistering send-up of privilege and power in America, and a profound reckoning of individual complicity and unspoken rage. In this electrifying debut novel from a provocative new voice, Elaine Hsieh Chou asks who gets to tell our stories-and how the story changes when we finally tell it ourselves."-- Amazon
Subject: Women doctoral students > United States > Fiction.
Chinese American women > Fiction.
Education, Higher > United States > Fiction.
Discrimination in higher education > United States > Fiction.
Satire, American.
Taiwanese Americans > Fiction.
Genre: Humorous fiction.
Campus fiction.
Satirical literature.

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Scenic Regional.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 3 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Scenic Regional-Wright City FIC CHO (Text) 3007589088 New Fiction Available -


Additional Resources